Your apps and online accounts have a significant impact on privacy and security. These programs collect information and, on occasion, share it with others. Furthermore, each app takes up space.
It’s a good idea to perform an app audit on a regular basis. Go through your apps and delete any that you no longer use or require.
Have you considered how many websites and apps have access to your personal information? You may be signed up for services you haven’t used in years, as well as newer ones you barely use.
Deleting an app isn’t enough; you must also delete your account. Because this isn’t always easy, we’ve compiled a list of nine impossible accounts to delete.
The more accounts you have online, the more vulnerable you are to hackers and tracking. Some apps and services make it difficult to completely delete your account. They may require you to use a desktop browser to access the site or to contact the company directly.
One website simplifies the process of locating the relevant pages to delete an account. Go to justdelete.me and enter or click on the name of the service you want to delete.
The site employs colour codes based on the complexity of a site’s deletion process. Green is simple, red is complicated, and black is impossible. If you get stuck, you can get more information by clicking “Show Info.”
See Also:7 Ways to Improve your Relationship
JustDelete.Me has classified the following six online accounts as “Impossible” to delete.
“Contact customer services,” says the Netflix information tab on JustDeleteMe. Even so, they may not delete your account if they believe you will return and keep your history and recommendations.”
To cancel your membership, go to help.netflix.com/en/node/407, but be aware of the fine print at help.netflix.com/en/node/100625, which states that the company retains “limited non-personally-identifying information” for “lawful reasons” and “fraud prevention.” This includes your email address as well as hashes of your payment information.
Because YouTube is owned by Google, you’ll need to delete your Google account before you can unsubscribe. You can, however, permanently delete your channel and its associated content.
Follow the instructions at support.google.com/youtube/answer/55759#zippy=%2Cdelete-your-channel-permanently. Your channel, comments, replies, messages, and watch history will be deleted.
JustDeleteMe says that you cannot delete your username on Wikipedia. Indeed, any links to the official Wikipedia page for deleting your account take you to a general FAQ page instead.
According to JustDeleteMe, you can deactivate your online accounts and have your posts hidden but not deleted. However, if you go to help.pinterest.com/en/article/deactivate-or-close-your-account, under the “Deactivate Your Account” section, this is what it says. According to the “Close Your Account” section, this action will “permanently remove your information from Pinterest.”
Steam Support will tell you not to use the account to delete it, according to JustDeleteMe. You can submit a deletion request by going to store.steampowered.com/account and logging in to your account. According to Steam, your personal information will be removed, but “some content you’ve posted in community areas will remain.” The process takes 30 days.
See Also: What Is Ethereum?
According to JustDeleteMe, you do not need to delete your old edX account because it will be deleted after some time if you do not use it. According to an edX support page, you can request a deletion by going to your account settings at courses.edx.org/account/settings. It should be noted that some course data will be kept for research purposes, as well as financial records.
JustDeleteMe points out that you can only temporarily deactivate your Evernote account and that you must manually delete your notes and personal information. While a link to the deactivation page is provided, another page describes how to permanently close your account.
See Also: 5 reasons why Dates are the BEST
To learn how, go to help.evernote.com/hc/en-us/articles/360056549574-Permanently-close-your-Evernote-account. According to the site, all of your notes and personal information will be deleted after four weeks.